Awards and Travel Grants

Rafael Lusky Prize

Rafael Lusky, a promising microeconomic theorist, was a professor with the economics department in the mid-70's before his life was cut short by cancer. Professor Lusky cared deeply about graduate students and this award to the best first year student was established in his memory. The Graduate Committee chooses the recipient based on various criteria from the first year of study.

Robert F. Lanzillotti Prize

Named in honor of an Emeritus faculty member and former Dean of the Warrington College of Business, the Lanzillotti prize is awarded to students with the best second year paper.

Madelyn M. Lockhart Award

Attending professional meetings, acting as a discussant, or presenting research are important keys to the transition from student to professional economist. The award is named in honor of the former economics Professor and Dean of the Graduate School who endowed these awards through the Madelyn M. Lockhart Endowed Doctoral Fund. As a result of her generosity, multiple awards of \$1,000 will be given each year which a student can use to help defray the costs of attending professional meetings. All doctoral students in Economics, who have been admitted to candidacy or who will be admitted at the time of travel are eligible. The Graduate Committee will select the awardees based upon the student's achievements and the merit of the proposed travel or of past participation in a meeting.

Madelyn M. Lockhart International Travel Award

Recognizing that the world is becoming smaller and that research can be of global scale, Dr. Lockhart has endowed a second travel grant through the Doctoral Fund to defray costs of international travel related to the students area of study. The purpose of such travel could be for such things as collecting data unavailable in the U.S., visiting research centers abroad, consulting with experts in the area of the student's research, or other appropriate activities. One award will be granted each year as decided by the Graduate Committee.

Edward Zabel Award

Named in honor of former Matherly Professor of Economics, the award of \$1,000 is given to the advanced student who has progressed the most in his or her research after completion of the second year paper. A crucial factor in the determination of the recipient will be the progress that has been made toward publication of the work. Every student beyond the third year in the program must submit a portfolio to the department to be judged by the Graduate Committee.

Walter-Lanzillotti Dissertation Award

The Lanzillotti Public Policy Research Center (PPRC) sponsors these awards for doctoral candidates (usually fourth year students) who submit an application. The awards are intended to promote outstanding dissertation research in important areas of public policy, including industrial organization, regulation, antitrust, education, health care, public finance, and international trade. The award of up to \$5,000 comes in two parts: up to \$2,500 will be paid as a stipend; the remainder will fund a research expense account that can be employed to pay for data collection and analysis, travel, and other research expenses.

Lawrence Kenny Graduate Student Teaching Award

Named in honor of Professor Lawrence Kenny, who served as Department Chair and Undergraduate Coordinator during his long career in the Department of Economics, this award recognizes Ph.D. students for excellence in undergraduate instruction. It is awarded annually to the doctoral student who has contributed the most to the undergraduate program through teaching and advising. Each receipt receives a \$1,000 scholarship.